Things that happened today, in no particular order.

I learned how to use the tortilla press, which is used for corn tortillas, and I got decently fast at it and didn’t have too many tear as I peeled them from the plastic.

I went to the grocery store with Padre Marco, his wife Maricela, their son Keller, and Luz, to buy food for today’s meals and I think tomorrow’s. The store was not terribly different from ours, with a lot of the same brands of cereal and sodas, some different produce and cheeses, etc. And you could change your points into,tickets to put into a big drum from which a winner would be drawn, with a nice red car as the prize.

I sat in the church singing songs in the hymnal that we also sing at Santo Tomás, and some of the kids came to sing with me: Luís, Keller, and Helen (whose dog had three puppies, one black and brown, and two all brown). It was great fun to sing together. Oh, and Justin sat with us for some of the time, too.

I chopped cilantro for the pica for today’s lunch. I spent a good bit of time sitting in the kitchen today, and talking with the women. I think now I know all their names, and have learned a little about them. María Suyapa is the oldest and the director. Another María made yesterday’s donuts, has four children from thirteen to twenty; the oldest lives and works in the States. The youngest, Jorge, came to hang out at the church after school today. Luz’s husband also lives and works in the U.S., and has been away for eleven years. They have three daughters. One is in high school, one makes gift boxes, and one does drawings (design?) for jewelry. Wendy’s husband Gustavo is the senior warden, and has been working hard on the tortillería project.

The little boys played with the iPad again, and so I took no pictures today.

I am a bit run down today. I think I am getting enough sleep, and mostly drinking enough, but probably my electrolytes are off or something. Tim gave me some V-8 and a banana and two oranges.

Pineapple is a thousand times better where it grows than when it has to be imported. Anything is, I suppose.

The new floor is about half done. First they leveled the ground, adding dirt to the rubble, smoothing it, and tamping it down. They dug the dirt from the base of the hill by the side of the road and carried it up in buckets. They had tied a string as a guide for the height of the concrete. This they mixed right on the sidewalk, like making pasta dough. First they used shovels to mix the dry ingredients: sand, rocks, and cement mix. They dug a shallow lake into which they poured a bucket of water. They then took shovelfuls from the sides and tipped the dry mix into the water along the top edges of the lake. When the lake was thus reduced in diameter by about half, they started turning the whole pile over until all was mixed. Then shoveled the mix into buckets which others poured where the floor was going, and Gustavo smoothed it out. Whew.

We were honored to be invited to the priest’s home for dinner. A wonderful time of fellowship over food, and learning more of his story, how he came to faith and to his vocation as priest.

Leave a Reply

