Sour cherry clafoutis

Adapted from “The Best of France.”

1/3 stick of unsalted butter
1 c of whole milk, plus extra
1/3 c sugar
2/3 c whole wheat flour
3 eggs
1/8 t almond extract
1 1/2 t vanilla
2 c sour cherries, sweetened to taste
Powdered sugar for dusting the top

Preheat to 375. Melt the butter, then add the milk slowly so the butter will stay melted. Add enough extra milk so that the milk and butter mix adds up to 1 1/2 cups. Pour this in the blender along with all other ingredients except the cherries and powdered sugar, and blend smooth.

Butter a pie plate or iron skillet and pour in the cherries. Pour the batter on top, and bake about 40 minutes or until a knife comes out clean. Dust with powdered sugar and serve warm.

I neglected to sweeten my cherries, thinking the sugar in the recipe was meant for them as well as for the batter (the book actually calls for Bing cherries, though, which are already sweeter); and the book suggested three cups of cherries, which was much too much. In fact, even one cup would be nice, especially if cherries aren’t your favorite fruit.

What’s most amazing is that I’ve hated cherries all my life. But as I was pitting these, I tasted one, and it wasn’t bad. And I figured I might as well make something with them, and try it, and I liked it. Like I said, I would have liked it better with sweeter cherries and fewer of them, but still!

4 thoughts on “Sour cherry clafoutis

  1. SCRUMPTIOS!!! I have soo many thoughts about your posts on love, but it’s nothing I can share. I think I’m still sorting them out! Just wanted you to know that I’m thankful for how you get me thinking~especially in a season where I’m going through so much emotionally. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. Pingback: Cherries « Becoming Three

Leave a Reply

