Balance

It is challenging to balance work and play; me time, Amy / family time, social time.

This weekend I spent a LOT of time knitting. Very relaxing, mostly, and lovely to have an extended time to myself. Sometimes it’s hard to distinguish between false guilt (it IS good to have time to myself, to rest and be replenished) and real guilt (when the balance is tipped too far in my direction).

I bet Super Nanny would give us some kind of schedule (on a large poster, for sure) that would make sure everyone gets what they need. I could give us one myself, I suppose, except I sort of hate schedules.

Now it’s nearly bedtime, and the hat is finished. Except I’m not sure I like it. Except my list is still long and weighty, and I’d really like to move on to the next thing. Except I also know that there’s no such thing as “When my work is done, THEN I’ll have time for X” — instead time for X must be accounted for when scheduling work; point being, I need to be careful about not pouring too much time and energy into the work in order to try to get it all done and out of the way.

3 thoughts on “Balance

  1. You are sooo talented! ALL of your projects make me ~SWOON~! When I was crocheting that tea set for a friend I remember one son telling me all I did was crochet~that I didn’t spend time with him anymore. 😦 That’s when I decided no more crocheting for profit~it’s just too much! With our stuff there’s no deadline, so I can go at my own pace. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. When I had foster children with high needs who needed “eyes on” all the time I learned to quilt. It meant I could be there to answer questions and observe but appeared to be busy allowing them the allusion of freedom. If I had known how to knit back then I probably would have knitted. Relax and enjoy!

  3. Jan, those are some of my favorite times, when I am working on some sewing or knitting and Amy is playing all around me — it’s what I’ve been calling “side by side” time, or parallel time. We are mostly independent, occasionally interacting. Sometimes, though, I don’t give her enough “face to face” or direct time, when my attention is undivided. And sometimes the work I’m doing requires too much focus for her to be playing around me, and sometimes the playing she’s doing is getting in trouble.

    Sandi, tough call, isn’t it? I’ve been thinking about that notorious Proverbs 31 woman, and what sticks with me lately is how much work she did, including for profit, and the chapter doesn’t mention playing with her kids at all. Not that I think all work and no play is the model recommended, but it’s an interesting counterbalance to the prevailing parenting culture’s emphasis on almost all play and no work. I do think the holiday season is not a good time to be doing sewing or knitting for hire — just too busy. It would be better for the slower months of January and February.

Leave a Reply

