Momentary prayer

Lord, fill and replenish me.
Nourish the neglected, shriveling bits.
Lavish me with mercy and grace and love,
Until no fear stands still quivering,
Until no irritation can provoke silly defensiveness.
Open wide my arms to the abundance of life,
Gently let my hands neither grasp nor push away.

Align me with your rule
I thirst for order
For each thing to be in its rightful place
Harmonious
Rightly related
So that the dance be unhindered
So that nothing entangle freedom

Restore me.
(And then
I will be kind to Amy (and others)
Feel less threatened by her needy smallness
Less worried about the balancing act
Only outflowing the kindness pouring in)

Leave a Reply

